New Brunswick.—In 1918 the Legislature of New Brunswick established a Ministry of Health. Under the Minister the Department is directed by a Chief Medical Officer who is also Registrar General of Vital Statistics. In addition, the Department maintains seven full-time Medical Health Officers, a Director of Nutrition, a Director of Public Health Nursing, a Director of Venereal Disease Control Division and an Assistant Registrar General.

Recent additions to services and staff consist of:-

- (1) A Director of Hospital Services, appointed effective June 1, 1947, whose duties are generally concerned with all phases of hospital service in the Province;
- (2) A Sub-Zone Laboratory, under a qualified Director, officially inaugurated on June 1, 1947, as part of the Provincial Bureau of Laboratories;
- (3) A Sanitary Engineer, appointed effective Aug. 1, 1947, under whose direction and supervision the problems of sanitation, water supply and sewerage will receive competent attention;
- (4) A Director of Cancer Diagnostic Service, appointed Aug. 6, 1947, to organize Cancer Diagnostic Clinics in various hospitals throughout the Province for a trial period of one year;
- (5) A Director of Tuberculosis Control Division, appointed effective Oct. 15, 1947, under whose supervision is centralized all work in connection with tuberculosis.

The Department provides the following services: general sanitation, control of communicable diseases including tuberculosis and venereal diseases, the supply of biologicals, medical inspection of schools, child-welfare work, health education, nutrition, and general supervision and co-ordination of the work of the Sub-District Boards of Health.

The Province assumes all the costs of sanatorium care for tubercular patients, all hospital care for victims of poliomyelitis during the acute and immediate postparalytic stages, and about 60 p.c. of the cost of hospital care for mental patients.

Quebec.—The Provincial Government, by legislation passed in 1946, authorized the establishment of a Department of Social Welfare and Youth. Since then, the Ministry of Health, which in reality has existed since 1936, deals only with matters relating to health, preventive medicine and public charities. From 1936 to 1941 provincial health matters were under the Department of Health which, in the former year, replaced the Health Service that operated under the Provincial Secretary. Since 1926 a system known as "County Health Units" has been in operation, the purpose of which is to provide a regular full-time service for each county or group of two or three adjoining counties included in the scheme. There are now 63 units of this kind, covering 74 counties. The Health Officers of the old districts, whose number is now reduced to seven, supervise the few counties not organized into Many municipalities, such as Montreal, Sherbrooke, Westmount and units. Quebec, have their own Health Bureaus.

The Department of Health maintains, in addition to its administrative service, the following divisions: Laboratories, Sanitary Engineering, Demography, Mental Health, Public Charities, Health Districts and Units, Epidemiology, Industrial Health, Nutrition (including Maternal Hygiene and Child Welfare), Venereal Diseases, Tuberculosis, Health Education, Dental Health Education, Publicity, etc.